Disclosure: Some of the links on our website are affiliate links. If you click on a link and make a purchase, we may receive an affiliate commission. Thank you in advance for supporting this free homeschool resource! Learn more.

Florida Homeschool Evaluations

As Florida homeschooling parents, you are required to provide for an annual evaluation documenting your child's demonstration of educational progress at a level commensurate with her or his ability.  This means that an evaluation will be due one year (and every year thereafter) from the date you established your home education program (i.e., filed your Notice of Intent with your district school superintendent).  You can choose to have the annual educational evaluation performed in any one of the following ways:

  1. A teacher of your choice can evaluate your child’s educational progress upon review of your portfolio and discussion with your child.  The teacher must hold a valid regular Florida certificate to teach academic subjects at the elementary or secondary level;
  2. Your child can take any nationally normed student achievement test administered by a certified teacher;
  3. Your child can take a state student assessment test, such as The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test (FCAT), used by the district school and administered by a certified teacher, at a location and under testing conditions approved by the district school.
  4. Your child can be evaluated by a psychologist (an individual holding a valid, active license pursuant to the provisions of s. 490.003(7) or (8)); or
  5. Your child can be evaluated with any other valid measurement tool as mutually agreed upon by you and your district school superintendent .

After the evaluation, you must file a copy of the results with your district school superintendent’s office.  The district school superintendent will review and must accept the results of the evaluation. If your child does not demonstrate educational progress at a level commensurate with her or his ability, the district school superintendent will notify you, in writing, that such progress has not been achieved. You will then have 1 year from the date of receipt of the written notification to provide remedial instruction. At the end of the 1-year probationary period, your child will need to be reevaluated.  Continuation in a home education program will be contingent upon your child demonstrating educational progress commensurate with her or his ability at the end of the probationary period.  For more detailed information read Florida Statute 1002.41.

Upcoming Homeschool Events

No events