In order for you to establish a homeschool program in Florida, you must send a written notice of intent to the district school superintendent of the county in which you reside. You can download a sample notice of intent here, or you may find that your district has a form available on their website for you to download. You can find the name and address of your district school superintendent at the Florida Department of Education or at your district school's website. The notice must be signed by you and include the names, addresses, and birthdates of all children who will be enrolled. You must file this notice within 30 days of establishing your home education program.
In order to maintain compliance with Florida statutes, you must:
Maintain a portfolio of records and materials consisting of a log of educational activities that is made contemporaneously with instruction and that designates by title any reading materials used and samples of writings, worksheets, and/or creative materials used or developed by your child. The portfolio must be preserved for two years and made available for inspection by the district school superintendent upon 15-days' written notice. (Note, however, that your district school superintendent is not required to inspect your portfolio.)
Provide for an annual educational evaluation which documents your child's demonstration of educational progress at a level commensurate with his or her ability. (You will find a Sample Annual Evaluation in our printables section.) The evaluation may consist of any one of the following:
(1) A certified teacher selected by you may review your portfolio and have a discussion with your child;
(2) Your child may take any nationally normed student achievement test administered by a certified teacher;
(3) Your child may take a state student assessment test at a location and under testing conditions approved by the district school;
(4) Your child may be evaluated by a licensed psychologist pursuant to the provisions of s. 490.003(7) or (8); or
(5) Your child may be evaluated with any other valid measurement tool as mutually agreed upon by you and your district school superintendent.
Submit a written notice of termination within 30 days of completion of your home education program or change of residence. You will find a Sample Termination Notice in our printables section.
For more detailed information on your requirements, read Florida Statute 1002.41. To learn more about Student and Parental Rights and Educational Choices, see s. 1002.01 and s. 1002.20. You can also read about it at Florida Department of Education's Office of Independent Education & Parental Choice.