Compulsory attendance is required for children ages 6 through 17.
Home-based education is a legitimate alternative to classroom attendance for the instruction of children. Homeschooling is permissible under Colorado law and is distinguished from private and nonpublic schools. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5.
The parent or guardian must provide a written notification to the local school district office 14 days in advance, explaining his or her intent to home school. Written notification is to be given for each child six years of age or older, for each year the program is maintained. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5(3)(e).
All costs of home education are assumed by the parents. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5.
The instructor of a child being homeschooled must be a parent, guardian, or adult relative. The parent must keep records of attendance, test and evaluation results, and immunization records. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5(3)(a). The nonpublic, home-based educational program must be a minimum of 172 days, averaging four instructional contact hours per day, and shall include, but not be limited to, communication skills of reading, writing, and speaking, mathematics, history, civics, literature, science, and regular courses of instruction in the constitution of the United States. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5(3)(d).
Teachers conducting evaluations for educational progress must be qualified as defined by the state. A qualified teacher is one who is licensed pursuant to article 60.5 of this title. The teacher is 1) employed by a nonpublic school; 2) a licensed psychologist; or 3) a person with a graduate degree in education. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5(2)(c).
Attendance data, test and evaluation results, and immunization records must be maintained and stored. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5(3)(g).
Each child participating in a nonpublic home-based educational program shall be evaluated when such child reaches grades three, five, seven, nine, and eleven. Each child shall be given a nationally standardized achievement test to evaluate the child's academic progress, or a qualified person shall evaluate the child's academic progress. Testing is administered at the parent's expense in accordance with the school district's decision. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5.
Parents of a homeschooled student are required to submit test or evaluation results to the local school district that received the written notice of intent to home school. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5(3)(f).
Parents may request from a school district that a homeschooled child take a state assessment with the results being sent to the parents or legal guardian. C.R.S. 22-7-409(III)(1.3)(b).
A district diploma is issued only to students who complete a public education school program. There is no state-accredited diploma issued to homeschooled students; however, parents may issue a diploma when the student completes the home-based program. Homeschooled children have the option of taking the GED. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5.
Students who receive instruction at home and participate in an extracurricular activity at a school selected by a district may do so without having to enroll in a course or obtain course credit as a condition to participate. Districts, schools, and interscholastic organizations may require homeschooled students to enroll in a course if the extracurricular activity is an extension of the course. C.R.S. 22-33-104.5 (6)(b)(I).
Colorado Department of Education
201 East Colfax Ave.
Denver, CO 80203
In Colorado, homeschooling is considered nonpublic and is not regulated by the state. The parent who oversees the home school program is taking on the responsibility of obtaining books, supplies, tests, and is responsible for any costs associated.
Pursuant to Colorado law, parents who wish to begin home schooling must provide written notification of the establishment of the home school program 14 days before beginning the home school program to a Colorado public school district office.
The written notification must include: the name, age, place of residence, and number of attendance hours for each child that will be participating in the home school program.
Written notification must be re-submitted to a Colorado public school district officet each year.
Colorado law states that home school programs must include, but are not limited to, the subjects of communication skills of reading, writing, and speaking, mathematics, history, civics, literature, science, and regular courses of instruction in the Constitution of the United States.
The selection of curriculum is at the discretion of the parent who is overseeing the home schooling program. The state cannot offer any guidance in this area, and encourages contacting the Colorado public school district office that received the written notification if there are further questions.
Home school programs must have no less than 172 days of instruction, averaging 4 contact hours per day.
Records for each child participating in a home school program must be kept on a permanent basis by the parent who is overseeing the home school program.
The records must include, but are not limited to, attendance, test and evaluation results, and immunization records as required by C.R.S sections 25-4-901, 25-4-902, and 25-4-903.
The records shall be produced and provided to the school district that received the written notification, not the state of Colorado, at the school district's request. School districts cannot request records without probable cause and must give fourteen days written notice. CRS 22-33-104.5 (3)(g): “Such records shall be produced to the school district that received the notification required by paragraph (e) of this subsection (3) upon fourteen days' written notice if the superintendent of said school district has probable cause to believe that said program is not in compliance with the guidelines established in this subsection (3).”
Students that are participating in a home school program must have academic progress evaluated in grades 3, 5, 7, 9, and 11. Students can take a nationally standardized achievement test or a qualified person, as described in C.R.S. 22-33-104.5(3)(f), can be selected by the parent to evaluate the student’s academic progress.
The results of the evaluation, whether by assessment or qualified person, shall be submitted to the applicable entity as specified by 22-33-104.5(3)(f), C.R.S. The state cannot provide guidance regarding assessments or evaluation. Please contact your local school district for resources or specific deadlines for submitting evaluation results.
According to CRS 22-33-104.5(3)(f), test or evaluation results “shall be submitted to the school district that received the notification required by paragraph (e) of this subsection (3) or an independent or parochial school within the state of Colorado.” The law does not specify specific deadlines but leaves the determination of when a child reaches a grade up to the parents.
The adult in charge of the program may graduate the student by simply issuing a diploma. However, taking the Colorado GED (High School Equivalency) is an option.
Contact for additional questions or concerns:
Source: Colorado Department of Education
We do not publish content that discriminates based on personal attributes such as age, gender, gender identity or expression, sex, sexual orientation, race, ethnicity, national origin, family status, marital status, disability, or medical or genetic condition.