Compulsory attendance is required for children ages 5 through 18.
Any person operating or intending to operate a home school must submit a home school registration form made available from the public education department or posted on its website within 30 days of the home school's opening. The person must also notify the public education department on or before August 1 of each subsequent year of operation of the home school. Additionally, the operator of the home school must maintain records of student disease immunization. NMSA 1978, §22-1-2.1.
A "home school" is a home study program of instruction operated by a parent, guardian, or other person having custody and control of a school-age person that provides a basic academic educational program, including reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. NMSA 1978, §22-1-2 E and J.
Any person operating or intending to operate a home school shall provide instruction by a person possessing at least a high school diploma or its equivalent. NMSA 1978, §22-1-2.1.
A school-age person is subject to the provisions of the Compulsory School Attendance Law and must attend school for at least the length of time of the school year that is established in the school district in which the person is a resident. NMSA 1978, §22-12-2.
The board of regents, governing board, or community college board of a public post-secondary educational institution may not require proof of a high school equivalency credential from an applicant who has completed all requirements of a home-based education program and has submitted the test scores that otherwise qualify the student for admission to the institution. NMSA 1978, §21-1-1.1.
A homeschooled student is eligible to enroll for free in the statewide cyber academy by enrolling for one-half or more of the minimum courses required within the local public high school curriculum. Alternatively, the student may enroll and pay 35 percent of the value per curricular unit if enrolled for less than half of the minimum courses required. NMSA 1978, §22-30-6.
Per the New Mexico activities association guidelines, a homeschooled student is eligible to participate in their local school district athletics, co-curricular and extracurricular activities. NMSA 1978, §22-8-23.8.
Homeschooled students may take one or more local public school class. NMSA 1978, §22-8-23.9.
New Mexico Public Education Department
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM 87501-2786
Phone: (505) 827-5800
Fax: (505) 827-6725
Home schooling is when a parent or legal guardian of a school-age person operates a home study program, including, but not limited to, reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. Students who are home schooled are not considered public school students.
Parents/legal guardians must notify the state of the establishment of a home school within thirty (30) days of withdrawal from public/private school and re-notify the state on or before August 1st of each year thereafter. Notification must also be made when a student moves or enrolls in a public or private school. This can be done via the New Mexico PED Home School System or by downloading the New Mexico Homeschool Notification Form (PDF) and mailing it to:
ATTN: HOME SCHOOL
300 Don Gaspar
Santa Fe, NM, 87501
NMPED staff will enter the data into the database. Parents are advised to mail the form via Certified Return Receipt or other delivery verification for their records.
A home study program of instruction must include instruction in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies and science. (Section 22-1-2(E) NMSA 1978)
All instruction in the student’s home study program of instruction must be provided by a person possessing at least a high school diploma or its equivalent. (Section 22-1-2.1(C) NMSA 1978)
A home school parent is required to either maintain records of student disease immunization or a waiver of that requirement for my home school student. (Section 22-1-.12(B) NMSA 1978)
Every home school student is subject to the provisions of the Attendance for Success Act and is required to attend home school for at least the length of time of the school year that is established in the local school district, which is generally based on a 180 day school year. (Section 22-12-2(B)NMSA 1978)
If you enroll your child in a public or private school in the future, log into the Home School System and click Parent -> Disenroll to withdraw from home schooling.
We do not publish content that discriminates based on personal attributes such as age, gender, gender identity or expression, sex, sexual orientation, race, ethnicity, national origin, family status, marital status, disability, or medical or genetic condition.