Compulsory attendance is required for children ages 6 through 18.
A parent-teacher conducting an independent home school must provide annual notice to the director of schools. The report must include the names, numbers, ages and grade levels of the children, the location of the school, proposed curriculum, proposed hours of instruction, and qualification of the parent-teacher. TCA 49-6-3050.
Parents or legal guardians conducting an independent home school must have a high school diploma or a GED to teach. TCA 49-6-3050(b)(4).
Students must receive a minimum of four hours of instruction per day for 180 days per year required of public schools in TCA 49-6-3004. TCA 49-6-3050(b)(3).
Attendance records are sent to the Superintendent at the end of the school year. TCA 49-6-3050(b)(2).
Home schools can be associated with a church-related school will be supervised by the Category IV director. Parent-teachers of students in grades nine through twelve who register with the school are required to have a high school diploma or a GED. TCA 49-6-3050(a)(2)(B).
Home schools associated with church related exempt schools must offer nationally standardized tests to be exempt from meeting the requirements proscribed to independent home schools. TCA 49-6-3050(a)(2)(A).
Independent homeschool students are required to take the same State Board approved secure standardized tests required of public school students in grades five, seven, and nine, except that the high school proficiency test is not required of ninth graders who are home schooled. TCA 49-6-3050(b)(5)(A).
If students score one year or more below grade level for two years in a row, the Superintendent may request that the parent enroll the child in public or private school, unless the child is learning disabled. TCA 49-6-2050(b)(6)(C).
Homeschool students may use public school facilities with the permission of the principal of the school, but they have no explicit right to use public school facilities. TCA 49-6-3050(a)(1).
Homeschool students cannot be prohibited from trying out for an interscholastic athletics team, based solely on the status as a homeschool student. TCA 49-6-3050(e)(2).
Tennessee Department of Education
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243-0375
Phone: (615) 741-2731
Fax: (615) 532-4791
Source: United States Department of Education - Tennessee State Regulations
Parents in Tennessee may choose to home school their own children in grades K - 12. The Tennessee Home School law (Tennessee Code Annotated § 49-6-3050) states: "A home school is a school conducted or directed by a parent or parents or a legal guardian or guardians for their own children."
Parents desiring to home school their own children may do so by choosing one of the following three options.
Parents may home school their own children pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated § 49-6-3050 by registering with their local school district. The law states that independent home school students must:
“Provide annual Tennessee Notice of Intent to Home School (PDF) to the local director of schools prior to each school year of the parent-teacher’s intent to conduct a home school and, for the purpose of reporting only, submission to the director of schools of the names, number, ages and grade levels of the children to be home schooled, the location of the school, the proposed curriculum to be offered, the proposed hours of instruction and the qualifications of the parent-teacher”;
Student attendance (at least 4 hours per day, 180 days per year) must be reported to the local school district at the end of the school year. You can use the Tennessee 2020-21 Attendance Calendar (DOC)
Maintain attendance records and submit these records to the Director of Schools at the end of each school year.
Submit proof of vaccination and receipt of any health services or examinations as required by law.
The parent will be required provide evidence of a high school diploma or GED.
Testing of independent home school students is required in grades 5, 7, and 9 and coordinated through the local school district.
By authority of the same statute, parents may also home school their own children by registering with a church-related "umbrella" school defined by Tennessee Code Annotated § 49-50-801.
Parents who choose this option will be required to provide evidence to the local school district that their child is enrolled in a church-related school. You can use the Tennessee Church-Related (Satellite) School Registration Form.
An Intent to Home School form is not required for students who enrolled in a church-related school.
The church-related school will determine record keeping and test requirements for students enrolled in an umbrella program.
Parents may also enroll their child in an accredited online school.
Parents choosing this educational option must be sure to determine that the school has legitimate accreditation status and will be required to provide evidence to the local school district that their child is enrolled in an accredited online school.
To be an acceptable online school for students who reside in Tennessee, the school must be accredited by one of regional accrediting agencies listed below:
We do not publish content that discriminates based on personal attributes such as age, gender, gender identity or expression, sex, sexual orientation, race, ethnicity, national origin, family status, marital status, disability, or medical or genetic condition.