Compulsory attendance is required for children ages 6 through 16 or until they have completed 10th grade.
A list of Arizona counties with links is provided below.
"Home school" is defined as "a school conducted primarily by the parent, guardian or other person who has custody of the child or instruction provided in the child's home." Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §15-802F.1. Each county has jurisdiction over home schooling within its borders. Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §15-802, 15-802.01.
Parents or guardians are required to complete, notarize, and file an affidavit of home schooling with the county school superintendent in the county in which they live within 30 days of beginning to homeschool their child. If a child returns to a public school, the parent is again obligated to report this change of placement to the county school superintendent within 30 days. Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §§15-802, 15- 802.01.
The parent must also submit to the county school superintendent within 30 days of the start of home instruction at least one of the following: a birth certificate, reliable proof of the child's identity and age, or a letter from the authorized agency with custody of the child. Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §15-828 B.
If the parent does not comply with the notification requirements, then the school, school district, or county school superintendent will notify the parents in writing, and if the parent does not comply within 10 days, the case will be referred to the local law enforcement agency for investigation. Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §15-828 D.
Instruction occurs for students between the ages of six and 16. Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §15-802.
Homeschool instruction at minimum includes reading, grammar, math, social studies, and science. Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §15-802(A).
There are no annual testing requirements. Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §§15-802, 15-802.1.
Home-instructed students are allowed to participate in the public schools' interscholastic activities for the attendance area where they reside. Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §15-802.01.
Arizona Department of Education
1535 West Jefferson Street
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Parents or guardians are required to complete, notarize, and file an affidavit of home schooling with the county school superintendent in the county in which they live within 30 days of beginning to homeschool their child and at least one of the following:
1) a birth certificate,
2) reliable proof of the child's identity and age,or
3) a letter from the authorized agency with custody of the child.
If a child returns to a public school, the parent is again obligated to report this change of placement to the county school superintendent within 30 days.
The affidavit of intent shall include:
(a) The child's name.
(b) The child's date of birth.
(c) The current address of the school the child is attending.
(d) The names, telephone numbers and addresses of the persons who currently have custody of the child.
See below for each Arizona county with forms and information links below.
If the child will attend homeschool, the child has not reached eight years of age by September 1 of the school year and the person who has custody of the child does not desire to begin home instruction until the child has reached eight years of age, file an affidavit of intent pursuant to paragraph 2 of this subsection stating that the person who has custody of the child does not desire to begin homeschool instruction.
An affidavit of intent is not required thereafter unless the private school or the homeschool instruction is terminated and then resumed.
Instruction shall be provided in at least the subjects of reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies and science. Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §15-802(A)
Arizona has no required testing of children who are instructed in a homeschool program while they are receiving homeschool instruction. Ariz.Rev.Stat. Ann. §§15-745.
A child who enrolls in a kindergarten program or grades one through twelve after receiving instruction in a homeschool program shall be tested pursuant to this article in order to determine the appropriate grade level for the educational placement of the child. Ariz.Rev.Stat.Ann. §§15-745.
The Arizona Department of Education provides no information about homeschooling, however, the county school districts listed below provide information and forms for homeschooling.
We do not publish content that discriminates based on personal attributes such as age, gender, gender identity or expression, sex, sexual orientation, race, ethnicity, national origin, family status, marital status, disability, or medical or genetic condition.